Menu Home

Armor

How can I protect you? Shield you in a bubble.  A plastic bottle rocket of care, fully encapsulated shelter, free of fear or hurtful foe? Can I tight wrap you in my love and will it shield you from pain? Bubble wrap you in well-being and self-esteem enhancing machines, pumping love in your veins. Can I please network motion censored laser beams at the perimeter of your being? Zapping at sight insensitivity, the confusing, the unbalanced nuances of life. Guard you from obstructive strife. All related dark, dissent and discord. I would She-Ra stand on a rock, saber ready, safeguard you with my sharp wielding sword. Can I protect you from the evils, the villains, the pain? The rocky tumultuous, inevitably absurd terrain? Can I bottle your falling tears and shuck them spiraling off into oblivion? They don’t belong on your cheeks like that, my love. When I see your face crease and tears release due to this dark aspect of life, from pain imparted by one of your greatest loves, knowing in the instant you are changed forever as a result, I want nothing more than to cloak you in affection, full unabashed protection. Guard you with every fragment of my being. Every cell shrieks. To comfort your wounded heart. To have to explain to you what’s been hiding flip side of your carefully safeguarded childhood dream door. To show you truth and pray it strengthens you the more. To witness your pain and take a sideline supportive seat, recognizing the protection is in the build. Not in a fortress, guarding from outside adversary, but in the fortitude of you my young man, and the integrity you will carry.

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

5 replies

  1. This is so beautiful and shares all the frustrations of watching someone you love hurt and doing the best you can to support and shield them from it. Lovely.

  2. Love how you describe all the things you wish you could do. But the realization that supporting through the pain is the best way to build strength. That is armor

  3. I’m thinking we are on the same page a lot. I feel your frustration…..and oh, the pain that accompanies it. “To witness your pain and take a sideline supportive seat, recognizing the protection is in the build”. This is good stuff here, and you are the best kind of Mom. ❤

  4. I know you are the best kind of mom. Not to worry, he will find his path. My boys were incredibly shy; I was ready to kick ass and take names…On their own they aligned themselves with people that always had their back. They found their voice but they sill have those friends and a mom that is still protective. Never doubt the strength of “the mom”.

  5. Oh little man, I’m sorry. Whatever it is, I love that kid and I hurt for him. You’re such a warrior and he’ll eventually pick more of that up from you being you. I know he will. He’s magic still. This slice is painful only because I feel what you feel before I can admire what you’ve done here. I feel for you too. There isn’t one lazy line in this whole damn thing, that’s for sure. I think if had to comment on just a few, it would the rhetorical questions that just show the depths of your love for him.

    This “Can I protect you from the evils, the villains, the pain? The rocky tumultuous, inevitably absurd terrain? Can I bottle your falling tears and shuck them spiraling off into oblivion? They don’t belong on your cheeks like that, my love. When I see your face crease and tears release due to this dark aspect of life, from pain imparted by one of your greatest loves, knowing in the instant you are changed forever as a result, I want nothing more than to cloak you in affection, full unabashed protection. Guard you with every fragment of my being. Every cell shrieks.” I mean. Ouch and wow. Pain and dumbfounded by descriptions. Hugs to youse.

Leave a Reply

