Menu Home

Get a Clue

“Are we going to play Clue now?”

“Yes, hold on. I just have to write something first.”

I sit down on the couch next to him.

“No. nononono. You said you were going to play with me.”

“I said we would. You had your homework. We just ate. We can play after I write.”

“What does my homework have to do with anything?”

I reiterate the rationale of homework, and eating dinner, and running errands taking time which have led us up to this precise moment in which I have to write.

“You keep saying you’re going to play. And you keep having stuff to do.”

“I have to write. I didn’t write yesterday because we were at Bella and Molly’s recital. I’ll write and then we’ll play.”

“You keep saying we’re going to play.”

He sneezes loudly and says, “I’m so sorry.”

I keep typing… and then abruptly, got my priorities straight.

Update:

ten minutes later… 

Who told their child they would play Clue, in the living room, with utter sincerity? And then got clued in that you can’t play Clue with two people?

Who done it? This mom.

A movie it is.

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

9 replies

  1. I do this too. I’m always putting someone or something important on hold while I write. Your son is brilliant…..“What does my homework have to do with anything?” Indeed. You’re the best kind of mom…..the kind who always realizes what her priorities should be, and this slice proves it.

  2. I love the look of your blog! I also find myself sneaking around to try to get a few lines down here and there. “Mom, put your ‘puter’ away.

    Duly noted.

  3. “I keep typing… and then abruptly, got my priorities straight.” Love this. And the postscript is hilarious. I haven’t played Clue in a hundred years but I use the murder references all the time. Is that fine?

Leave a Reply

