Menu Home

I need you

Days when I carelessly allow the minutes to slide away into past tense forgetfulness

Each dismissed second a painful prompt

of potential time misspent

Be good. Be strong.

Please smile. Don’t be scared

I am but I won’t say it

Because

I can’t

So I’ll laugh with you

I need your hands. I need your smile. I need your laugh. Your coat and it’s furry hood. I need your long hair, your curled mascara lashes. Your lip gloss and perfume.  Your hug. I need your wooly socks and black loafers. Damn it I need your lattes and conversation. Advice and relief.  Backing and banter. Prayers and pillar. Your texts, “Hey my darling…”

I need you.

Please smile. Don’t be scared

I am but I won’t say it

So let’s laugh instead

Today when minutes all abruptly seem too precisely numbered and at a frightened unrest

I need you to be ok.

“So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine”

-Hillsong United “Oceans”

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

3 replies

  1. I will pray that she is. And she will be. She will she will she will she will. I love her via you.

    “I need your hands. I need your smile. I need your laugh. Your coat and it’s furry hood. I need your long hair, your curled mascara lashes. Your lip gloss and perfume. Your hug. I need your wooly socks and black loafers. Damn it I need your lattes and conversation. Advice and relief. Backing and banter. Prayers and pillar. Your texts, “Hey my darling…” the whole middle. The WHOLE MIDDLE is this rushed sketch of the outline of someone with so much depth in your soul. It’s all love and hope. 🙂

  2. Thank you. Seriously if you could keep in prayers, I’d appreciate. The middle was a heart pour for sure. Truthfully, I just really needed to get it out there, out in the universe that I need her. I need her I need her I need her . And yes. She will. she will. she will. Xo

  3. Prayers and pillar. I love that line.

    I am not sure who this Slice is referring to, but I am sure that it’s someone very near and dear to your heart. Someone you need in your life. I’ll say a prayer for her now.

Leave a Reply

