Menu Home

Tempest Lamb

“When I look down, I miss all the good stuff
And when I look up, I just trip over things…” Ani Di Franco

Convoluted.

So tightly wound

knotted coils

countless rounds of rejection and defeat

he sees the world as his enemy.

They’re not all out to get you, little man.

The anger seething between grinding teeth

he looks longingly, desperately.

My heart holds you

amid a fluorescent hallway

Two steps in front of me

So far out of reach

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

5 replies

  1. About a student? I feel the ache in your words. If I’m right in my assumption…even if I’m not – this speaks to me from a place I’ve been before. “Countless rounds of rejection and defeat.” How do our kids move on from this…especially at such a young age?

  2. Oh man, this is no good. Well. The writing is amazing as always, but the subject matter…I am in that hallway, feeling helpless.

  3. All children deserve a safe and happy world and its so sad that this is not always the case. As teachers, we can have a positive influence if even for a short time.

  4. Oh Ani. It’s been a long time… Fav line, “My heart holds you; amid a fluorescent hallway” I am so fond of that idea of a heart holding onto a child especially one it can’t directly help. I can’t help but wonder if it’s a student. You always do love your students so much. Even the crazies have a place with you. Ultimate heart on sleeve wearer, you.

Leave a Reply

