Menu Home

All the Women, Independent

 

“It’s difficult to see the glass ceiling because it’s made of glass. Virtually invisible. What we need is for more birds to fly above it and sh** all over it, so we can see it properly” – Caitlan Moran

I know a whole lot of free bird females, whom not only fly above, but women whom break the glass mold ceiling while soaring ever higher… Whether it be their own intellectual pursuits, educational endeavors, juggling parental responsibilities with professional development, chasing artistic passions and self-expressive undertakings, self-made entrepreneurs…All while sporting Tyra Banks, “smize,”  fierce spear heading pioneers. Yes, I know many a bad ass women. Smart women. Funny women. Compassionate and Driven Women.

I know some cool girls.

2014-06-11 17.28.07

When you become friends with someone later in life, it can feel awkwardly similar to the first stages of dating. From the preliminary stages of inside jokes to the exchange of numbers… the first phone calls… do you want to get lunch? Is this official? The initial introduction to family and friends…We’ve heard so much about you! Wait. Are we flirting with each other?  Do you want to be real deal life, actual friends?

But I’ve found that finding a friend, a kindred soul, a parallel partner, later in life… is a real gift.  Someone who may not have been with you along the whole rising ride, but whose life path serendipitously crossed yours at precisely the right moment,  at exactly the most perfect  life changing time.  These friends get you. Not the grammar school you, or the high school, college you. Not the early twenties you, the newfound married you… the now you, the presently whole all-encompassing  you.

These types of friends not only, get you, they challenge you to be better. At a point in your life when other facets are secured and goals and personal objectives are already set, they inspire and motivate you to forge new courses.

Today, on a day all things women, I’m going to buy into the hype and I need to say thanks to Bret. My own later life friend, the weird little one woman warrior who never shys away from speaking her mind and flys smack dab into any glass ceiling set above her with crashing kamikaze passion.

We might not be on the exact same flight pattern these days, but I know we still run parallel courses. Thanks for being you, ya skinny Ginger.

‘The most courageous act is still to think for yourself.  Aloud.’ Coco Chanel

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

6 replies

  1. You had me drawn in with your title. This is a subject that is near and dear to me, and something is, a lifelong adventure. Later life friends seem to find each other at just the perfect moment, and it is awkwardness is exactly as you described. Recognizing your later life friend in writing is one of the most beautiful tributes you can offer. This slice touched me.

  2. It is so true about the awkwardness surrounding new friendships. I almost feel as if the ones I make now start out so much more fragile than I ever felt before!

  3. You sliced me? You really, really sliced me?

    Just kidding, you sliced you. Amazing, all-encompassed you. You, who already knew all the things you knew but let me play muse now and then. You, who only gets better with age and I think, long hair. You, who trailblazed letting life play out for the world to read about and gave me the solid push to follow in your blog footsteps. It’s reciprocal, you know that.

    Love how the heavens reign down on our regal poses. What a difference a year makes, eh? This feels like us laughing at the tornados that sucked our lives up and whipped them all around in big and little ways but yet I think we centered each other in all our storms. Plus, it takes two to man a two-man folk band. 😉 Feeling a reunion tour is on the cusp.

    Thank you. In all seriousness, thank you. You dropped little hints to the reader but I caught them, each one and am touched. Not everyone can communicate in eye squints and bro nods nor can many step outside convention and say all the things that are usually left unsaid between adults. I’ve never had a friend who says ftp and tells me everything I need to hear even when I don’t want to. And forgives me when I do the same. You’re beautiful, Jemaine. Not weird and I read all your lyrics.

Leave a Reply

