Menu Home

Oh Maya

Touched by An Angel

We, unaccustomed to courage
exiles from delight
live coiled in shells of loneliness
until love leaves its high holy temple
and comes into our sight
to liberate us into life.

Love arrives
and in its train come ecstasies
old memories of pleasure
ancient histories of pain.
Yet if we are bold,
love strikes away the chains of fear
from our souls.

We are weaned from our timidity
In the flush of love’s light
we dare be brave
And suddenly we see
that love costs all we are
and will ever be.
Yet it is only love
which sets us free.

– Maya Angelou

“I’ve learned that no matter what happens, or how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow. I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights. I’ve learned that regardless of your relationship with your parents, you’ll miss them when they’re gone from your life. I’ve learned that making a “living” is not the same thing as making a “life.” I’ve learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance. I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw something back. I’ve learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision. I’ve learned that even when I have pains, I don’t have to be one. I’ve learned that every day you should reach out and touch someone. People love a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back. I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn. I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” 

~Maya Angelou

God Bless you, girlfriend. Thank you

Rest in Peace

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

2 replies

  1. So sad. You picked the best and we all owe her a debt, don’t we? I’m sharing this. She shines through your original words often. That you must know. My favorite lyrical poet must be a bit heartbroken missing one of the greats. A muse for a new generation.

  2. Wow…I don’t know what to say. Such beautiful metaphors. ” I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catchers mitt on both hands; you need to be able to through something back” She was an amazing writer, and she will be remembered.

Leave a Reply

