Menu Home

Bananas and Cuties

As I broke out the bananas I had bought 2 for a dollar from 7 Eleven, and Cutie oranges I had grabbed from home, I heard several excited, “Oh I want a banana… Cutie Please… I’ll share my banana with…”

Down the rows of desks, newly arranged for testing, they pass the Cuties, split the bananas, break the graham crackers… like little trails of ants passing crumbs; a community.

The Cuties and bananas and crackers circulate.

Thank you …Thanks…Thank you… Yes, Please… No thank you…Thank you

An aromatic splash of citrus zest fills the room.

Bright rays of a newly risen sun trickle through the classroom windows, generating a glow.

Our class plant, Ramona, casts a spidery shadow.

They smile and eat their snacks.

They are so little.

I am so proud.

Little cuties.

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

5 replies

  1. I really admire the form that this takes, decreasing sentence and paragraph length across the peice. It gives the piece a unique rhythm and voice that drew me right in. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I just adore your writing. It is so beautiful. I loved the lines “An aromatic splash of citrus zest fills the room. Bright rays of a newly risen sun trickle through the classroom windows, generating a glow.” What a beautiful picture that creates for your reader as you set the scene for the small, but special moment you observed your students sharing.

  3. I love your double play on words at the very end— the cuties as in the oranges and the cuties as the students! Always love reading your writing— it flows so well!

  4. I gushed reading this today because it’s so honest about how you feel about your kids as yes, little cuties. They can be so adorable when they are polite and you caught this moment perfectly. I love them and I love that you shared it with them so much!

Leave a Reply

