Menu Home

Ready Set Go

Slice of Life 21:

Straight forward -> No nonsense today.

Books that made me laugh and mourn and fear and pity and sympathize and empathize and cheer and sigh.

Books that just killed me.

Books that hit home struck a chord sparked a flame ignited a passion

Books that I love, think everyone should love, think everyone should read, must read, before they die.
Off the top of my head- the first ten…
in 5 minutes or less…

Go:

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou
Cat’s Cradle, Kurt Vonnegut
Slapstick, Kurt Vonnegut
Women, Charles Bukowski
Circle of Friends, Maeve Binchy
Lolita, Vladimir Nobokov
Glass Castle, Jeanette Walls
The Things They Carried, Tim O’ Brien
The Paris Wife, Paula McClain
On the Road, Jack Kerouac
Electric Kool Aid Acid Test, Tom Wolfe
Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe
The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini

Ok. So that’s 12, but it’s the first 12 that popped into my head. I hate writing this list because I know there are dozens more and I feel like I am betraying and two-timing them. But in all honesty, it’s got to say something that these are the first that came to mind.

What are the first couple books that pop into your head?

If you had one minute to write down the names of 3 books that, in your opinion, everyone on the planet should read,

must read,

before they die.

Go:

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

12 replies

  1. 1. “Till We Have Faces” by C. S. Lewis
    2. “The Rising of the Lark” by Ann Moray
    3. “Gone With the Wind” by Margaret Mitchell

    I, too, feel a sense of betrayal…. great prompt!

  2. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Herman and Marguerite An Earth Story by Jay O’Callahan along with his The Gouda!

  3. When I wrote this, it was totally self-serving. I planned on trying to read one selection from each person whom responded. I need a few good reads for spring break. 🙂 Anyway- going to try “Pillars of the Earth,” in your case. Thanks!

  4. I have been meaning to read, “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” for about 15 years or so… time to get on that! I’ll also have to check out O’Callahan.

  5. Think bigand the big picture.. ben carson things fall apart… chinua achebe…having read the the later growing up. And reading your tribute to him… no doubt its a must read ..not to forget his ” the arrow of God”…Achebe birthed writers … storytellers… poets…from all walks life…

Leave a Reply

