Menu Home

10 for 10

Slice of Life 10:

10 insights from the past 10 days:

10. If you aspire to be a writer- Write. Take risks. Do it often. and.. Waa la.

9. Others might not understand your writing- your jokes. feelings. The unique perspective you bring to the world. Accept that and Write Anyway. Put it out there. Paint the world with strokes of your colorful words. Cherish the distinctiveness of your palette. Own it.

8. Writing everyday heightens awareness to the remarkable details in our very ordinary lives happening right now . . .Writing everyday encourages reflection, nurtures appreciation , and deepens understanding of ourselves and world. “Who speaks of miracles? I know of nothing but miracles . . .” – Walt Whitman (the great)

7. Writing everyday helps me understand my students- their frustrations, concerns, strengths. Using my own writing every day in the classroom helps my students better understand me, as a human being- with frustrations, concerns, and strengths. A teacher’s own writing is an invaluable classroom resource.

6. Writing is dynamic. Readers breathe life into words. Words come to life when they are shared and experienced by others. The stories, ideas, emotions they convey operate as a vehicle to unite.

5. Words are the pail that dip into the placid pools of the past, the cavernous waters which embrace our memories… drawing fluid recollections to refresh.. allowing others to swim in your reminiscences. It’s pretty precious.

4. When you write about what you love, the words come effortlessly. Your passion naturally infuses into your writing.

3. With the right combination of music from the Vitamin String Quartet covering Cold Play and U2, and a cup (or two or three) of hot coffee, I inexplicably become passionate about anything and everything. Insight: Music motivates. And coffee is just awesome.

2. I am not a robot. I am human. I have proven this well over thirty times now and it brings me joy each time to confirm my status.

1. Well, the first step is admittance. My name is Brighid. I am a writer.

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

14 replies

  1. What a great list! While I really like all of them, I have to say that #3 made me laugh out loud…probably because I see a lot of myself in that one! You hit a major truth with that one.

  2. What a great list for our 10th day of slicing! I agree wholeheartedly with #8, “Writing everyday heightens awareness to the remarkable details in our very ordinary lives happening right now,” and I love your insights about working with children (#7). Thanks for sharing!

  3. Yes you are a writer. Isn’t it a wonderful discovery? Yes coffee is just awesome but that is not the only thing on your list that I whole heartedly agreed with!

  4. Love, love, love your list! Number 2 made me laugh out loud. “Paint the world with strokes of your colorful words,” is a sentence I wish I had written. Along with “Words are the pail that dip into the placid pools of the past.” Isn’t this fun?

  5. Dear Brighid the writer,
    I’m not looking forward to April. I am enjoying your posts this month! You always give me something to think about! Usually add a smile too!

  6. I love this list. My favorite: “Writing everyday encourages reflection, nurtures appreciation , and deepens understanding of ourselves and world.” I may borrow your idea for a 15 day reflection with my students.

  7. Brighid- I love every single point on your fabulous list! However, #2 may speak the loudest to me. I fully agree with Patti. I don’t want March to end!!!! You are such a beautiful writer.

  8. I love your list. You are such an amazing writer. By the way when are you going to share some of your amazing poems like the one I saw when I was in Julie’s class 😉

  9. There are writers who are thought provoking..there are those who are not… i would rather read a writer’s work ..who challenges me ..motuvates me ..makes me discover myself…brighi ..you are one of them.. the way you pen your thoughts…in every piece.let the world discover you!

Leave a Reply

