Menu Home

NaPoWriMo 1: Flight

Poem challenge

Prompt: Continuing with the theme of firsts, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that has the same first line as another poem. The first line of this poem comes from a poem by the great Gwendolym Brooks, “A Song in the Front Yard”

I’ve stayed in the front yard all my life.

Peering between white pickets
Under calculated veils
Finely designed prospects
Of life’s promise

On my back I lay
Allowing the wind to whisper.
The chime of the leaves
shake and rustle.
Murmurs stir
Promise in the clouds,
Contours of creative courage,
Shifts of possibility.

Take me
As on my back I lay
Imagining flight
Touring spiral cloud plumes.

And away I go.

Categories: Uncategorized

brighidk28

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

